Grants Panel

Northland Community Foundation is a Local Donation Manager for The Tindall Foundation. We distribute around $80,000 per year to organisations throughout Northland, via our "Grassroots Fund".

Our Grants Panel meets once per year to determine where the funding will go.

The panel is made up of six volunteers from around the region, including a representative from the Northland Community Foundation board of Trustees.

Grants Panel Members and their Community Connections

Debbie Evans (Dargaville) Elected member Northland District Health Board Elected member, Northland COGS committee, CEO Kaipara Community Health Trust, Deputy chair Kaipara Care Inc. Member Rural Women New Zealand, Northland Housing Forum member, Chair Kaipara Creative New Zealand funding committee (KDC), Chartered member NZ Institute of Directors,  Muddy Waters art gallery member

Rosemary Archibald (Kaitaia) Archibald Cars Family Finance Ltd, Northland Debt Collection, Golden Sand Beachfront Apartments, Doubtless Bay Promotion Society, Northland Rentals Ltd

Katherine Clarke (Hokianga) is an Associate of Centre for Social Impact at Foundation North, Trustee of Manea – Footprints of Kupe (new development in Opononui) and has business and community connections in Hokianga.

Terri Donaldson (Kaipara) owns an organic dairy farm in Maungaturoto. Over the years Terri has been involved in the arts, sports and in the community. Most recently a judge at the Kaipara Wearable Arts Awards, coach/manger of the Otamatea High School Girls Rugby Team and is the Chairperson of the Maungaturoto Residents and Ratepayers Association.

Nicola Hartwell (Whangarei) is one of our newest Trustees. She is also a lawyer at WRMK law firm in Whangarei. Nicola has recently moved to Whangarei from Auckland and fully immersed herself in the Whangarei Heads community. Nicola is a surf-lifesaving nippers coach, and volunteers for the Bream Head Conservation Trust and Ocean Beach Landcare Group.

Season-Mary Downs (Whangarei) (Te Kapotai, Ngati Hine, Ngapuhi) Season-Mary was born and raised in Northland and is a Director of Tukau Law. Season-Mary has extensive experience advising and representing whanau, hapu, and iwi clients in Maori legal matters and Treaty of Waitangi claims processes. Season-Mary is an active member of Te Hunga Rōia Māori o Aotearoa (Māori Law Society).